Skip to content

Triple Your Gift

Thanks to a generous Foundation board member, your gift by June 6 will TRIPLE up to $50,000!

Give Now

Coast Guard Foundation Awards Record Number of Scholarships

News Scholarship 2016 Announcement 1
August 29, 2016

We’re proud to announce that in 2016 the Coast Guard Foundation is awarding 128 new scholarships to help Coast Guard families pursue the goal of higher education.

Combined with multi-year scholarship recipients and three Fallen Heroes Scholars, the Foundation is supporting 163 students totaling $576,500 in support this year.

In just over 26 years, the Foundation's scholarship program has paid out more than $3.8 million to more than 630 college-aged young adults giving them the opportunity to become who they always dreamed they would.

I am so honored to have been selected as a 2016 Coast Guard Foundation scholar and extremely grateful for the opportunity to use this scholarship to further my education in a major of my passion,” wrote Katherine Milbrandt in a letter to the Foundation. “Thanks again for your dedication to helping students such as myself reach our dreams.

We are humbled support these remarkable young men and women as they pursue their dreams of higher education. Of the students receiving Foundation assistance, four are class valedictorians and two are salutatorians; 28 had a high school GPA of 4.0 or higher and half of the recipients are children of active duty members.

These young men and women have given back to the community in the form of thousands of volunteer hours spent working at food banks, animals shelters, veteran hospitals, assisting in their local communities, and special needs ministries with trips to Guatemala, Jamaica and Mexico, as well as other locations to help those in need.

The talented individuals include track stars, soccer standouts, accomplished musicians and swim team captains and aspire to be doctors, nurses, teachers, chemical and aerospace engineers, biomedical and environmental scientists, anthropologists, business executives and sustainable design engineers.

This year we received 59 percent more applications and we’re expecting a similar increase next year with our scholarship program having grown rapidly over the past several years.

Complete list of 2016 Coast Guard Foundation Scholars

Coast Guard Foundation Scholarship Recipients: Awards range from $1,000-$5,000 scholarships

Kennedy Adcock — Stapleton, AL

Matthew Albert — Novato, CA

Rachel Archer — Winlock, WA

Alicia Armstrong — Brunswick, ME

Austin Aviles — Moyock, NC

Abigail Babcock — Meridian, ID

Sarah Becker — Toano, VA

Kaitlynn Bennett — Elberta, AL

Kelsey Bettencourt — Columbia, MD

Sophia Beyer — Charleston, SC

Matthew Baker — Traverse City, MI

Isaiah Brown — Negaunee, MI

Wade Brown — Edmond, OK

Chandel Burgess — Pearland, TX

Haley Bumgardner — Wilmington, NC

Sydney Bumgardner — Wilmington, NC

Christopher Caminiti — Brooklyn, NY

Sydney Chappell — North, VA

Kelsey Chism-Lewinski — Novi, MI

Christy Choronzy — Nekoosa, WI

Anaiah Christensen — Kalaheo, HI

Emily Churchman — Mobile, AL

Victoria Clendaniel — Sanford, ME

Kyle Cochran — Mount Vernon, MO

Taylor Collett — Kingsland, GA

JoNae Cromartie — Port St. Lucie, FL

Jessica Curl — Mobile, AL

Jenika dela Cruz — Virginia Beach, VA

Carson Dennis — Grand Forks, ND

Allison Duenow — Duluth, MN

Samantha Dunlow — Coats, NC

Ellecina Eck — Boca Raton, FL

Alina Flawau — Puyallup, WA

Lauryn Fleming — Neosho, MO

Katelyn Franklin — Ocean Springs, MS

Erin Frohnapfel — Cordova, AK

Hailey Gaertner — Buzzards Bay, MA

Karlinette Galvan — Aguadilla, PR

Mackenzie Gentile — Rice Lake, WI

Jacob Girard — Clinton Township, MI

Jemiris Gonzalez-de Jesus — Williamsburg, VA

Logan Graham — Enterprise, AL

Jordan Harpe — Richmond Hill, GA

Ana Hayes — Ashland, VA

Steven Hammerton — Lisbon, ME

Madeleine Hayes — Willis, TX

Christian Hinkel — Lucedale, MS

Destin Hinkel — Lucedale, MS

Riley Hollandsworth — North Cape May, NJ

Katelyn Izzo — Kodiak, AK

Charles Jones — Smithfield, VA

Jessica Jackson — Kapolei, HI

Jocelyn Jeffries — Petaluma, CA

Cameron Jenkins — Sault Sainte Marie, MI

Emily Johnson — Fairfax, VT

Hailey Jomp — Elizabeth City, NC

Isaac Kaye — Leeper, PA

Emily Lewis — East Aurora, NY

Meghan Lewis — South Berwick, ME

Emilee Keuten — Saint Ignace, MI

Courtney Kilbourne — Carrollton, VA

David Kimmel — Westbrook, ME

Jacob King — Hammonton, NJ

Zachary Kingsley — Merritt Island, FL

Tristin Knox — Novata, CA

Sarah Kraus — Franklin, WI

Raeland La — New Castle, DE

Kyle Latronico — Hampstead, NC

Hayley Lewis — South Berwick, ME

Holly Lindemann — Jacksonville, FL

Shelby Lott — Luray, TN

Macy Lukenbill — Bayamon, PR

Melissa Macabeo — Spokane, WA

Payton Massey — Ellsworth, ME

Amber Matlock — Jacksonville, NC

Carlie Mays — Mobile, AL

Molly McKenna — Columbus, GA

Dartanyan Melendez-Cintron — Philadelphia, PA

Ryan Meshke — Warrenton, OR

Katherine Milbrandt — Oldsmar, FL

Katherine Minehart — Centerville, MA

Angela Monahan — Burbank, CA

Kayla Miskimon — Key West, FL

Brittany Morrison — Columbia, SC

Eric Morrison — Columbia, SC

Kaitlyn Murphy — Somers, NY

Sarah Nelson — Camden, NC

Rodik Newsome — Mobile, AL

Ayden O’Connell — Sandwich, MA

Kelley Olson — Juneau, AK

Elizabeth Perez-Garcia — Newport News, VA

Kasandra Phillips — Hampton Bays, NY

Brieanna Phipps — Elizabeth City, NC

Chelsey Porter — Navarre, FL

Gabrielle Raymond — Fort Pierce, FL

Emma Riemer — Vineyard Haven, MA

Joriam Rivera — Brick, NJ

Julie Rensink — Mobile, AL

Vasilios Rusko — Mashpee, MA

Austin Rutledge — Summerville, SC

Savannah Schell — Sonoma, CA

Brenna Sharp — Rochester, MN

Jillian Sherman — Mobile, AL

Kira Sislak — Yorktown, VA

Erin Smith — Corpus Christi, TX

Madison Smith — Corpus Christi, TX

Ruby Smith — Easthampton, MA

Alanis Stallknecht — Kalispell, MT

Charlotte Tallman — Nantucket, MA

Abigail Theirrien — Sandwich, MA

Jackson Tunks — Fairhope, AL

Andrew Valentine — Quinebaug, CT

Matthew Valentine — Quinebaug, CT

Taylor Venema — Everett, WA

Haley Vozzella — Hershey, PA

Tahlia White — Corpus Christi, TX

Cody Williams — Deckerville, MI

Justin Wiltse — Traverse City, MI

Allison Wood — Hinckley, OH

Jeremiah Wood — Easley, SC

KaseyJo Wright — Gulf Breeze, FL

Double Scholarship Awards - Coast Guard Foundation & CDR Daniel J. Christovich Scholar

Ryan Montgomery — Grand Haven, MI

CDR Ronald J. Cantin Scholar

Kaitlin Callahan — Moorpark, CA

Hugh Westbrook Scholar

Cameron Bluthenthal — Sequim, WA

USCG Cuttermen Scholar

Cameron Smith — Staten Island, VA

Fitzpatrick Family Scholar

Anna Shubel — Elizabeth City, NC

CAPT Ernest Fox Scholar

Kayla Twiford — Elizabeth City, NC

Recent News