• Enews Signup

    Subscribe to our monthly e-news for info on...

    • Upcoming events
    • Coast Guard news
    • Updates about CGF's work
    • The latest posts from our blog

Coast Guard Foundation Cup Sails to Success

The Coast Guard Foundation's overnight distance race in the Chesapeake Bay, hosted by the Annapolis Yacht Club, was met with much enthusiasm by the 11 sailboats that participated in the competition.

The race kicked-off on Saturday, April 27 at 11 a.m. Over the course of the race, the sailboat crews encountered some strong wind that helped keep the race interesting and challenging, in the range of 20 knots at times. Early finishers crossed the finish line at 3:00 a.m., with the majority of participants completing the race by 9 a.m. on Sunday.

Crews gathered Sunday afternoon at the Annapolis Yacht Club clubhouse to hear the winners announced and thank the sponsors for a great event. Many promised they would return for the next Coast Guard Foundation sailboat race. Captains and crewmates were happy to have an opportunity to shake out their sails and get out on the water early in the season.

Director Sally Brice-O'Hara spoke on behalf of the Coast Guard Foundation, giving special thanks to Huntington Ingalls Industries and Metcor LLC for their generous sponsorship of this event. Race results are detailed below.

Race Results

PHRF A1 Division
Boundless – Kim and George Anderson – Annapolis Yacht Club
Mazal Tov – Arne Fliflet – Herrington Harbor SA
PHRF A2 Division
Poco A Poco – Nate Owens- Herrington Harbor SA
Alpha Papa- Albert Holt- SC Chesapeake
Widow Maker – George Bauer – Annapolis Yacht Club
PHRF C Division
Cookie – Steve Culfogienis – Magothy River SA
Gitana – David McCullough – Herrington Harbor SA
Actaea – Michael Cone- Corinthian YC Philadelphia
PHRF Cruiser
Elysium – Norm Kennard
Nichols' Quarters – F. Scott Nichols

Comments (0)