• Enews Signup

    Subscribe to our monthly e-news for info on...

    • Upcoming events
    • Coast Guard news
    • Updates about CGF's work
    • The latest posts from our blog

Coast Guard Foundation Announces 2012 Scholarship Winners

The Coast Guard Foundation is pleased to announce this year's awards of $142,500 in college scholarships to 46 children of enlisted Coast Guard personnel. Below are the names of the students, the type of scholarship they received, their home towns, the college they attend or plan on attending, and their area of study. The Coast Guard Foundation has 82 scholars that we are currently supporting for a total of $225,200.

This year marked the first time in many years that the Foundation was able to fund all of the requests from qualified students, a milestone that we are very proud of. We were able to reach this achievement thanks to some very generous anonymous donors. They were impressed with the quality of all the applicants, and donated $16,000 to make sure each one received a scholarship.

Rear Admiral Arnold I. Sobel Scholars: $5,000/year for 4 years

  • Michael Black, of Orange Park, Florida, Clemson University, Mathematics
  • Anna Engvall, of Kodiak, Alaska, University of New Mexico, Nursing
  • Avery Johnson, of Brooksville, Florida, University of South Florida, Biology
  • Rebecca King, of Hammonton, New Jersey, New York University, Journalism

Coast Guard Foundation Scholars: $2,500 each, one-time awards

  • Kristine Ahlfield, of Madison, Iowa, Iowa State University, Journalism/ Political Science
  • Casey Allen, of Savannah, Georgia, University of Georgia, Communication Sciences & Disorders
  • Zaire Canty, of Stafford, Virginia, Virginia Common Wealth University, Kinetic Imaging/ Animation
  • Ashley Carter, of Marysville, Washington, University of Washington-Seattle, Social Work, MH Counsel, Family Therapy
  • Rose Dennis, of Grand Forks, North Dakota, St. Olaf College, Psychology
  • Morgan Forni, of Sullivan, Maine, Eckerd College, Marine Science
  • Nicolas Glover, of Waldorf, Maryland, Full Sail University, Game Development
  • Rebecca Hansen, of Greeneville, North Carolina, East Carolina University, Communications
  • Cody Hawley, of Port Norris, New Jersey, Liberty University, Communications
  • Tyler Humphries, of Port Angeles, Washington, University of Hawii at Manoa, Architecture
  • Miranda Kalbach, of Camden, North Carolina, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Business Admin, Information Technology
  • Andrew Kanode, of Gloucester, Virginia, Rappahannock Comm. College/Virginia Tech, Agriculture Science
  • David Kelley, Warrenton, Oregon, Pacific University, Prelaw Studies, Political Science
  • Keeya Singer, of Redding, California, Loyola Marymount University, Psychology
  • Charlotte Tallman, of Nantucket, Massachusetts, University of Vermont, Athletic Training
  • Erika Towne, of Stonington, Connecticut, Northeastern University or University of Connecticut, Engineering

Commander Daniel J. Christovich Scholar, $2,500 one-time award

  • Landon Prever, of Portsmouth, Virginia, Virginia Polytech Institute & State University, Horticultural Science

Commander Ronald J. Cantin Scholar $2,500 one-time award

  • Katieanne Beitler, of Fairhope, Alabama, University of Alabama, Nursing

Captain Ernest W. Fox Scholars (Total $1,500)

  • Ashley Bunting, of Camden, North Carolina, $1,000 one-time, University of North Carolina Charlotte, Political Science
  • Christy McKethan, of Elizabeth City, North Carolina, $500 one-time, Embry Riddle Aeronautical University, Technical Management

Coast Guard Foundation Scholars $1,000 each, one-time awards

  • Kayse Alvis, of Senatobia, Mississippi, University of Mississippi, Biology
  • William Baker, of Leland, North Carolina, Virginia Military Institute, Criminal Justice, Mechanical Engineering
  • Zoe Davidson, of Falls Church, Virginia, Pace University, Undeclared
  • Joshua Eddie, of St. Marys, Georgia, Mississippi College, Graphic Design
  • Vanessa Gomez, of Aguadilla, Puerto Rico, University of Puerto Rico, Biology / Medicine
  • Kevin Hiller, of Port Clinton, Ohio, Heidelberg University, Accounting
  • Brett Hoversen, of St. Johns, Florida, Florida State University, Marine Biology
  • Kathryn Katz, of Evansville, Indiana, Western Kentucky University, English concentration in Creative Writing
  • Sydney Larrabee, of Layton, Utah, University of Nebraska - Lincoln / Utah State University, Animal Science - Equine
  • Emily Meshke, of Warrenton, Oregon, Oregon State University, Biology
  • Savannah Samp, California State University - Monterey Bay / Fairleigh Dickinson University, Biology
  • Ashley Saunders, of Alameda, California, Old Dominion University, Interdisciplinary Studies
  • Emma Sawrey, of Beaverton, Oregon, Portland Community College, Interior Design
  • Kyle Van Cleef, of East Sandwich, Massachusetts, Hartwick College Business, General
  • Amanda Wiehrs, of Gloucester, Virginia, Virginia Intermont College Photography
  • Jennifer Wright, of Crestview, Florida, Florida State University, Teacher Education

Comments (0)